Criminal Justice Career Academy Instructors

The Criminal Justice Department faculty at Minnesota State University, Mankato are qualified and prepared to bring the professional world of criminal justice to the high school classroom. The Department of Criminal Justice consists of 10 faculty and two academic advisors/field practice directors.  Our faculty and staff come from a wealth of real-world experiences, including former practitioners (e.g. policing, corrections, law, child protection, and related fields), held previous leadership positions (e.g. police CEO, correctional administrators, etc.), taught on the secondary education level, and counseled youth.  Additionally, all of our faculty hold doctorate degrees, including professional certifications.  Combined we have over 140 years in higher education teaching and 165 years in the criminal justice field as practitioners.

Sue Burum, Professor

College of Humanities and Social Sciences | Criminal Justice | Law Enforcement | Political Science

Address: 222C Morris Hall
Phone: 507-389-6941
Email: sue.burum@mnsu.edu

Thor Dahle, Assistant Professor

College of Humanities and Social Sciences | Criminal Justice | Law Enforcement

Address: 207C Morris Hall
Phone: 507-389-6930
Email: thor.dahle@mnsu.edu

Jeffery Dennis, Assistant Professor

College of Humanities and Social Sciences | Corrections | Criminal Justice

Address: 113Z Armstrong Hall
Phone: (507)-389-1132
Email: jeffery.dennis@mnsu.edu

Carl Lafata, Assistant Professor

College of Humanities and Social Sciences | Criminal Justice | Law Enforcement

Address: 109C Morris Hall
Phone: 507-389-1206
Email: carl.lafata@mnsu.edu

Jessica McLaughlin, Director of Criminal Justice Field Education

College of Humanities and Social Sciences | Corrections | Criminal Justice

Address: 113 Armstrong Hall
Phone: (507)-389-5601
Email: jessica.mclaughlin@mnsu.edu

Pat Nelson, Professor | Department Chair

College of Humanities and Social Sciences | Criminal Justice | Law Enforcement | Public Administration

Address: 109C Morris Hall
Phone: 507-389-1207
Email: pat.nelson@mnsu.edu

John Reed, Assistant Professor

College of Humanities and Social Sciences | Criminal Justice | Law Enforcement

Address: 207B Morris Hall
Phone: 507-389-1377
Email: john.reed@mnsu.edu

Pedro Thomas, Professor

College of Humanities and Social Sciences | Corrections | Criminal Justice

Address: 113E Armstrong Hall
Phone: (507)-389-2190
Email: pedro.thomas@mnsu.edu

Sherrise Truesdale-Moore, Professor

College of Humanities and Social Sciences | Corrections | Criminal Justice

Address: 113P Armstrong Hall
Phone: (507)-389-1868
Email: sherrise.truesdale@mnsu.edu

TJ Vaughan, Associate Professor | Coordinator, Corrections Program

College of Humanities and Social Sciences | Corrections | Criminal Justice

Address: 113R Armstrong Hall
Phone: (507)-389-5602
Email: tj.vaughan@mnsu.edu

Tamara Wilkins, Associate Professor

College of Humanities and Social Sciences | Criminal Justice | Law Enforcement

Address: 221B Morris Hall
Phone: 507-389-1118
Email: tamara.wilkins@mnsu.edu